Issue 40 – January 2010


2009 Reader's Poll

Every year, we give you the opportunity to pick your Clarkesworld favorites from the prior year. This time around, we are focusing on your favorite fiction and cover art from 2009 (listed below).

You can take the survey at

Everyone that participates will be in the running for one of five free copies of UNPLUGGED: THE WEB'S BEST SCI-FI & FANTASY: 2008 DOWNLOAD, a new trade paperback from Wyrm Publishing.

We will close this survey on January 30th and publish the results in our next issue.

2009 Fiction

2009 Cover Art

Evil Snowman
by Serj Iulian

Signs of Life
by Geoff Trebs

The Wish
by Harout Demirchyan

Torturing Poor Mushroom
by Blaz Porenta

Take Flight
by Adam Chowles

Handbark Academy
by Alexander Nanitchkov

Sea Monster
by Jason Ng

Don't Be Afraid
by Kim Kyoung Hwan

by Andreas Rocha

by Sean Donaldson

Brain Tower
by Kazuhiko Nakamura

The Remains Which Live
by Keisuke Asaba

Author profile

Neil Clarke is the editor of Clarkesworld Magazine and Forever Magazine; owner of Wyrm Publishing; and a ten-time Hugo Award Nominee for Best Editor (short form). His anthologies include Upgraded, Galactic Empires, More Human Than Human, Touchable Unreality, The Final Frontier, Not One of Us, The Eagle has Landed, and the Best Science Fiction of the Years series. His latest anthology, The Best Science Fiction of the Year: Volume 6, is now available from Night Shade Books. He currently lives in NJ with his wife and two sons.

Share this page on:
New Voices


Amazon Kindle


Weightless EPUB/MOBI