Issue 41 – February 2010


2009 Reader's Poll Results

Last month, we asked you to vote for your favorite artwork and short fiction publishing in Clarkesworld in 2009. The results are in and it is my pleasure to present the 2009 Clarkesworld Magazine Reader's Poll winners:

Short Fiction

1st Place (tie) - "The Radiant Car Thy Sparrows Drew" by Catherynne M. Valente AND "From the Lost Diary of TreeFrog7" by Nnedi Okorafor

2nd Place - "Spar" by Kij Johnson

3rd Place - "Placa del Fuego" by Tobias S. Buckell


  1st Place

"Brain Tower"
by Kazuhiko Nakamura
  2nd Place

"Signs of Life"
by Geoff Trebs
  3rd Place

"Evil Snowman"
by Serj Iulian

Unplugged Winners

The winners in the voter drawing for copies of UNPLUGGED: THE WEB'S BEST SCI-FI & FANTASY: 2008 DOWNLOAD from Wyrm Publishing are Tim Moore, Sarah Frost, Michael Casse, Christine Gregory and Samatha McGinn.

Congratulations to our winners and thanks to everyone that voted.

Author profile

Neil Clarke is the editor of Clarkesworld Magazine and Forever Magazine; owner of Wyrm Publishing; and a ten-time Hugo Award Nominee for Best Editor (short form). His anthologies include Upgraded, Galactic Empires, More Human Than Human, Touchable Unreality, The Final Frontier, Not One of Us, The Eagle has Landed, and the Best Science Fiction of the Years series. His latest anthology, The Best Science Fiction of the Year: Volume 6, is now available from Night Shade Books. He currently lives in NJ with his wife and two sons.

Share this page on:
Best Science Fiction of the Year
subscribe kindle


Amazon Kindle


Weightless EPUB/MOBI