Issue 94 – July 2014

Podcast, Reprint

Gold Mountain


Our fifth piece of audio fiction for July is “Gold Mountain” written by Chris Roberson and read by Kate Baker.

Originally published in Postscripts, Autumn 2005

Author profile

Chris Roberson is probably best known for his Alternate History "Celestrial Empire" series, which, in addition to a large number of short pieces (including "Gold Mountain"), consists of the novels The Dragon's Nine Sons, Iron Jaw and Hummingbird, The Voyage of Night Shining White, and Three Unbroken. His other novels include, Here, There & Everywhere, Paragaea: A Planetary Romance, Set the Seas on Fire, Voices of Thunder, Cybermany, Incorporated, Any Time At All, End of the Century, Book of Secrets, and Further: Beyond the Threshhold, and he has also contributed to the "Warhammer," "X-Men," and "Shark Boy and Lava Girl" series, and written "Elric" graphic novels in collaboration with Michael Moorcock. In addition to his writing, Robertson is one of the publishers of the lively small press MonkeyBrain Books, and edited the "retro-pulp" anthology Adventure, Volume 1. He won the Sidewise Award for Best Alternate History in 2004 with his story "O One." Roberson lives with his family in Austin, Texas.

Share this page on:

Subscribe to our podcast.